Miss World Philippines 2017: Official Candidates Announced

FullSizeRender (2)
Photos from Miss World Philippines’ Instagram account, @msworldphil

The official Miss World Philippines 2017 candidates were revealed last July 29 at the final screening held in New World Makati. The selections were initially made public through a series of posts in Miss World Philippines’ official Instagram account.

Here is the complete list of candidates and their official number assignments, as seen in MWP’s official Facebook page: 

  1. Shawntel Michole Cruz
  2. Veronica Villones
  3. Glyssa Leian Perez
  4. Rose Flores
  5. Kacie Lyn Fajardo
  6. Jona Sweett
  7. Jane Darren Genobisa
  8. Faye Deveza
  9. Teresita Ssen “Winwyn” Marquez
  10. Leidda Paulette Babasanta
  11. Gabriela Madarieta Ortega
  12. Henna Kaizelle Nicole Cajandig
  13. Kathryn Cudiamat
  14. Christina Marie Coloma
  15. Laura Victoria Lehman
  16. Ethel Abellanosa
  17. Angelica Burgos
  18. Christine Angel Alvaira
  19. Joanna Marie Rabe
  20. Trizha Ocampo
  21. Netania Deveza
  22. Chelsea Anne Manalo
  23. Princess Laureano
  24. Zara Carbonell
  25. Discery Karren Dela
  26. Janela Cuaton
  27. Ella Eiveren Lubag
  28. Shiela Reyes
  29. Krystle Anne Ongjanco
  30. Kathleen Gomez
  31. Jeanyfer Ozbot
  32. Cynthia Tomalla
  33. Noelle Uy-Tuazon
  34. Andrea Poliquit
  35. Sofia Senoron

Now, some familiar names in this roster: Joanna Marie Rabe (#19) and Janela Cuaton (#26) have competed in Mutya ng Pilipinas; Jona Sweett (#6) represented Iloilo in Miss Philippines Earth 2015 and was awarded Miss Eco Tourism; Henna Cajandig (#12) competed in both Bb. Pilipinas and Miss World Philippines 2013, making this her second attempt in this pageant; Gabriela Ortega (#11) was a Bb. Pilipinas 2017 Top 15 finalist; Laura Lehmann (#15) was Bb. Pilipinas 2014 1st Runner-Up and later a UAAP courtside reporter. And actress Teresita “Winwyn” Marquez (#9) was a heavy favorite in Bb. Pilipinas 2015, who much to the consternation of many, finished only as a semifinalist.

Other curiosities: Zara Carbonell (#24) is the daugher of actor Cris Villanueva; and Shiela Reyes (#28) is the younger sister of former Bb. Pilipinas-World 1996 Daisy Reyes.

This is the highest number of delegates recorded so far in the Miss World Philippines system, which is now under the direction of talent manager Arnold Vegafria and new business manager Bessie Besana.

Coronation night will take place on September 3 at the SM Mall of Asia Arena. Up for grabs are three additional titles, namely, Reina Hispanoamericana Filipinas 2017, Miss Eco Philippines 2017, and Miss Multinational Philippines 2017. The winner of the plum title will don a new crown co-designed by Miss World 2013 Megan Young. 


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s